Saturday, December 16, 2017
English (UK)SpanishESRussian


The Republic of Cuba is a Socialist State and its constitution was last modified in 1976.

Dr. Fidel Castro Ruz is President of the State's Council and the Council of Ministers. The maximum executive and management body is the Council of Ministers, which constitutes the government of the Republic of Cuba ; it has a total of 31 members who are elected by direct vote at the "National Assembly of the People's Power". The legislative body is the National Assembly of People's Power, which has 589 delegates elected by the people, the supreme organ of the State's legal power. Elections are carried out by direct suffrage every five years. All citizens above sixteen years of age have the right to vote. The only recognised Party is that of the Communist Party of Cuba.

From 1976, Cuba is divided in 14 provinces and 169 districts, to ensure homogeneity in terms of people density and land extension. The provinces are: Pinar del Río, Havana, City of Havana, Matanzas, Villa Clara, Cienfuegos, Sancti Spiritus, Ciego de Avila, Camgüey, Las Tunas, Holguín, Granma, Santiago de Cuba, Guantánmo and Isla de la Joventud.







Comments (0)

Explore CUBA
by list